Food Prep – easy lunches for the working week

So we’ve all heard of ‘Food Prep’. Well what does it mean? To me it means making food or meals ahead of time to ensure you always have something ready to grab and go or simply for when you know you wont have time to make a proper nutritious, clean meal.

I usually prep my snacks at the weekend and make big batches of certain items ready for Sunday evening or Monday morning when I make my lunches for the week. This week I am on my own, hubby’s away, so my lunches will probably be the same as my dinner because I like an easy life and am perfectly happy eating the same thing!

So this week for lunch I am having a base of Quinoa, salad, kale and rocket which I prepped on Sunday. And then I store everything in containers in the fridge for when I am ready to put it together with my choice of protein. I always add any leaves and dressing on the day I am eating to prevent sogginess!:

wp-1475508593474.jpg

Quinoa

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • tbsp lemon Juice

Just boil on a medium heat for 15 minutes stirring occasionally. Leave to cool and store.

Salad

  • 1 yellow pepper
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 thin slices red onion
  • 3 stalks celery

Just finely chop all the veg, mix and store in sealed container.

Kale

Just rinse, dry and finely chop. Store in sealed container

Protein choices

  • 1/2 cup edamame beans
  • 3-4 oz cooked chicken breast
  • 2 boiled eggs
  • 3 slices lean turkey

Dressing

Tbsp Balsamic Vinegar and drizzle Tahini, salt & pepper

 

To put together (you can make all 5 in one go or just keep everything ready in sealed containers):

  • Place 1/2 cup quinoa in the corner of container
  • Place handful or kale in one other corner
  • Fill the rest of the bottom with the salad
  • Place your protein choice on top at one side

On the day of eating

  • Top the other side with rocket
  • Lightly drizzle the balsamic and Tahini over the top
  • Sprinkle a few roasted chickpeas and seal container.
  • Don’t forget your fork!

Easy Peasy and so easy!! No excuses not to be prepared!

wp-1475508573950.jpg

xx Em xx

Leave a Reply

