Move Over Kale… Cauliflower – Who knew it was such a Superfood?!

Cauliflower has become my favourite vegetable since I started clean eating. I would never have dreamed I would say that, I used to really dislike it, I couldn’t even stand Cauliflower Cheese. How things change!

Cauliflower is an absolute superfood; it has more than 70% more detox value than Kale, contains no fat, and next to citrus fruits, is our next best natural source of vitamin C. It also helps the body to fight against infection. Cauliflower has plenty of fibre, folic acid and potassium, proving it’s much more nutritious than it looks. There is also evidence that suggests Cauliflower may be a natural cancer fighter due to its antioxidant properties. It contains something called indoles, that are thought to stimulate enzymes that block the growth of cancer.

So all in all it’s well worth getting into! We should try to incorporate it into our diet on a regular basis, to get the benefit of these amazing nutritional  properties.

Cauliflower is so versatile and can be used as a great substitute for many things. It can be used instead of potatoes for mash, in place of rice, for making pizza, fritters and for using as a dipping machine!

I tend to buy 2 Cauliflower heads when I shop, and I like to prep them before I put them away so they are ready for cooking with.

The first head gets chopped up into bite sized pieces and stored in the fridge in a Tupperware. I use these for dipping into hummus, my aubergine dip, mostly for snacking and packed lunches.

The second head gets broken up into florets and all the stems and leaves thrown away. I then put the whole lot in the blender and blitz it until it is nicely broken down but not mushy or pureed. Then I tip the blended cauliflower into a microwaveable bowl, cover it and microwave it for 6 or 7 minutes, leave it to cool for a while and store it in a mason jar in the fridge. It keeps for a week but I’ve usually used it all by then!

wpid-wp-1430422236990.jpg

To use as Cauliflower Rice just reheat for a minute or two.

To use as Mashed Potatoes, just re-heat, and mash it up further.

To make Cauliflower Pizza, view recipe >>>

To make Cauliflower fritters, watch this space, recipe coming soon.

5 thoughts on “Move Over Kale… Cauliflower – Who knew it was such a Superfood?!

Leave a Reply

